NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News 

1st Test Live! India reach 182 for three at close of play

Write a comment

February 23, 2013

16:40  1st Test Live! India reach 182 for three at close of play:  Scorecard:

India end Day two comfortably-placed at 182 for three (52 overs), trailing Australia by 198 runs but with seven of their wickets intact.

Sachin Tendulkar is batting on 71 and giving him company is Virat Kohli (on 50), the two having put on 77 runs for the fourth wicket. 

James Pattinson was the pick of the Australian bowlers getting all the three Indian wickets to fall.
16:10  1st Test Live! Tendulkar, Kohli help India consolidate:  Scorecard:

Michael Clarke replaces Siddle (third spell,  4-0-11-0) in the attack in the 41st over.

Tendulkar, meanwhile, has  completed 7,000 runs at home and 3,500 runs against Australia, the single off Henriques for the latter also helping the home team reach the 150-run mark.

A single by Kohli, in Henriques' eighth over, helped raise the 50-run partnership for the fourth wicket.

Starc replaces Clarke (2-0-14-0) in the attack.

India 156 for three after 45 overs. 
15:21  1st Test Live! Tendulkar's 67th Test fifty props up India:  Scorecard:

A single off Lyon helps Tendulkar reach his 67th Test fifty, 16 of them having come against Australia. 

Peter Siddle replaces Pattinson (second spell, 3-0-9-1) in the attack in the 33rd over. Kohli hits him to the fence, the batsman's first of the innings.

India 124 for three after 34 overs. 
15:05  1st Test Live! Pattinson strikes again, Pujara dismissed:  Scorecard:

Just when things looked to have settled down for India James Pattinson comes in with a beauty to knock off Cheteshawar Pujara's (44) stumps. 

Pujara's 74-ball knock was inclusive of six boundaries and he helped Tendulkar put 93 runs for the third wicket. 

Virat Kohli has come out to join the Master. 

India 107 for three after 30 overs. 
14:52  1st Test Live! Indian batsmen frustrate Aussie bowlers:  Scorecard:

Jmaes Pattinson replaces Starc (second spell, 4-1-9-0) in the attack in the 27th over. He concedes six runs even as the home team reaches the 100-run mark off the last ball.

India 100 for two after 27 overs. 
14:09  1st Test Live! Tendulkar, Pujara combine well for India:  Scorecard:

Mitchell Starc has bowled six overs at a stretch and is replaced in the 13th over by Nathan Lyon, Australia's lone spinner. 

Tendulkar survives a loud leg before shout off the first ball. The home team reach the 50-run mark in the over. 

It's a twin bowling change for Australia, Moises Henriques replacing Siddle (3-1-13-0).

Tendulkar and Pujara take the third wicket partnership to more than 50 runs.

India 81 for two after 21 overs.
13:31  1st Test Live! Tendulkar, Pujara put India back on track:  Scorecard:

Taking a cue from Tendulkar, Pujara cuts Starc past point for his first boundary.

Tendulkar's assault on Pattinson (3-1-16-2) has prompted Clarke to make an early bowling change, bringing in Peter Siddle in the eighth over.

Starc, bowling round the wicket, though poses some problems for Tendulkar.

India 47 for two after 12 overs. 
12:59  1st Test Live! Pattinson's early strikes pegs India back:  Scorecard:

Sehwag, playing with corrective glasses, fails to react quickly to a Pattinson delivery and it clips his bails off. 

Pattinson has struck for a second time in only his third over. 

Sachin Tendulkar comes out to a thunderous applause from the crowd. A lot depends on him now with India having lost both their openers.

He starts off with three sweetly-timed boundaries.

India 24 for two after six overs.
12:46  1st Test Live! Pattinson ensures Australia a breakthrough:  Scorecard:

Just as we say India is off to a good start it turns out to be the opposite. James Pattinson strikes in the second ball of his second over, making Vijay (10) edge on to his stumps.

The umpires seemed to check if it was a no ball. But it seems alright. Vijay has to go.

Cheteshwar Pujara comes out to join Viru Sehwag.

India 11 for one after four overs. 
12:40  1st Test Live! India gets off to a good start:  Scorecard:

Virender Sehwag and Murali Vijay to open the batting for India and it is Mitchell Starc first up for Australia. Just one off the first over. 

James Pattinson to bowl with the second new ball. Vijay welcomes him by hitting the first ball to the fine leg fence. No more runs come from the over.

Vijay though gets a second boundary in Starc's second over.

India 11 without loss after three overs. 
11:47  Scorecard:

When Nathan Lyon took a single off Jadeja in the 129th over, it was the first runs scored for 32 balls. 

Ishant replaces Ashwin (seventh spell, 3-3-0-0) in the attack in the 130th over. 

Meanwhile, the giant screen suddenly displays the message 'we miss you dada' and follows a loud roar from the cowrd. Sourav Ganguly continues to remain popular.

Lunch has been postponed as the visitors are nine down. Ashwin replaces Jadeja (eighth spell, 4-2-6-0) in the 133rd over.

He strikes with final ball, having Lyon caught by Virat Kohli at backward short leg. Pattinson remains unbeaten on 15.

Ashwin ends with figures of seven for 103.

Australia bowled out for 380.
11:24  Scorecard:

James Pattinson has come out to replace his captain. 

However, Harbhajan did end Siddle's resistance, having him caught by Sehwag at first slip. Siddle had survived 94 balls for his 19. 

Ashwin replaces Jadeja (seventh spell, 4-1-5-1) in the attack in the 124th over, the latter replacing Harbhajan (fourth spell, 6-1-16-1) in the next over. 

Australia 372 for nine after 127 overs.
11:02  Scorecard:

The noise from the crowd continues but it is more about frustration than ecstasy. 

A single by Clarke off Harbhajan in the 115th over helps raise the 50-run partnership for the eighth wicket. 

Jadeja replaces Kumar (fourth spell, 2-0-4-0) in the attack in the 116th over. Calrke (on 128) is dropped by Pujara at silly point off the second ball.

India finally manage a breakthrough, in the 25th over of the day, when Jadeja has Clarke caught by Kumar.

The Australia captain's 246-ball 130 was inclusive of a dozen boundaries and a six and he put 54 runs (in 29 overs) with Siddle for the eighth wicket.

Australia 361 for eight after 120 overs.
10:39  Scorecard:

A cut wide of point off Ashwin helps Siddle get his first boundary and move on to double figures. The Aussie bowler has so far resisted for 66 balls.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar replaces Ishant (sixth spell, 4-0-12-0) in the attack in the 112th over. 

The crowd is increasingly getting frustrated with the home team having failed to get a breakthrough in the first over. 

Harbhajan Singh replaces Ashwin (sixth spell, 4-0-11-0) in the attack immediately after the drinks break.

The visitors got to the 350-run mark in the over, courtesy a Siddle boundary.

Australia 353 for seven after 113 overs.  
10:07  Scorecard:

Ishant Sharma replaces Ashwin (fifth spell, 7-4-12-1) in the attack in the 104th over.

Ashwin meanwhile replaces Jadeja (sixth spell, 9-3-13-1) at the other end.

Australia 332 for seven after 106 overs.


The first over of the day, bowled by R Ashwin, is a maiden. The crowd is already in full flow. It's a weekend and there are quite a few people who have thronged the grounds today.

Ravindra Jadeja bowls the second over and the first runs of the day come off the ninth ball, courtesy a couple by Clarke. 

Australia 323 for seven after 100 overs. 
09:23  Despite managing seven Australian wickets on the opening day, India let them score 316.

Moreover, Michael Clarke is unbeaten on a well-made 103. 

The home side has to account for the Australian captain early on the second morning if has to press home its advantage.