NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News 

World T20 Updates: Sri Lanka beat India by six wickets, win title

Write a comment

April 06, 2014


Sri Lanka: 132-4 (17.5 overs)
India: 130-4 (20 overs)

Sanga hits successive boundaries to reach his fifty while Perera (21 not out) hits the winning boundary. 

Sri Lanka are the winners of the ICC World T20.

The beat India by six wickets, with 13 balls to spare.

Sri Lanka: 104-4 (16 overs)
India: 130-4 (20 overs)

Lahiru Thirimanne (7) doesn't last long, Mishra having him caught behind. 

Thisara Perera is promoted up the order. He smashes Perera for a six over long-on and follows it up with a boundary past the short fine fielder.

Sangakkara hits a boundary off Ashwin to take Sri Lanka past the 100-run mark, in the 16th over.

Sri Lanka: 65-2 (10 overs)
India: 130-4 (20 overs)

Kumar Sangakkara, also playing in his last T20 international, joins Jayawardene at the crease. 

Amit Mishra replaces Kumar (3-0-18-0) in the attack in the seventh over. He gives away just a single. 

Suresh Raina is handed the ball in the next over. He strikes in his second, having Jayawardene (24) caught by Ashwin. 

Sri Lanka: 41-2 (6 overs)
India: 130-4 (20 overs)

Dilshan cuts loose with two boundaries, successive ones in Mohit's second over, which costs India 15 runs. 

Jayawardene gets into the groove with successive boundaries off Kumar.

First bowling change for India. R Ashwin to the bowl the sixth over. Dilshan hits the second ball to the backward square leg boundary. 

But the bowler has the last laugh, Kohli taking a spectacular catch at deep square leg to cut short Dilshan's (18) stay. 

Sri Lanka: 8-1 (2 overs)
India: 130-4 (20 overs)

Kusal Perera and Tillekeratne Dilshan open the batting for Sri Lanka and it will be Bhuvneshwar Kumar first up for India. 

Perera hits the second ball to the leg side fence. Five runs from the first over.

Mohit Sharma to bowl the second over. He strikes first ball, having Perera (5) caught by Ravindra Jadeja at mid-off.

Mahela Jayawardene, playing in his last T20 international, is the new man in.
20:33  Scorecard:

India: 130-4 (20 overs)

While Kohli is going from strength to strength, Yuvraj is struggling. 

Yuvraj's (11 off 21) ordeal is over in the first ball of the penultimate over, when Kulasekara has him caught by Thisara Perera at long-off.

Yuvi and Kohli's partnership for the third wicket was worth 55 runs.

MS Dhoni is the new batsman in. He fails to get going even as Malinga bowls a fantastic final over.

Kohli (77) is run out off the last ball as India is restricted to just 130 for four.

Sri Lanka have made an impressive comeback here. They have regained the advantage going into the second innings. 
20:14  Scorecard:

India: 111-2 (16 overs)

Herath ends with decent figures (4-0-23-1).

Malinga returns to bowl in the 14th over. A single off his fourth ball helps Kohli complete yet another half century, his eighth in T20 cricket and his fourth of the tournament. 

Kulasekara back to bowl in the 16th over. Kohli hits the first ball over long-on for a six to help India get past the 100-run mark. The second ball goes through cover to the fence. 

The third ball also goes to the fence.
19:54  Scorecard:

India: 65-2 (11 overs)

A boundary by Rohit, off Mathews, helps raise the fifty run partnership for the second wicket, in the 10th over. Kohli smashes the final ball for a huge six, the over costing Sri Lanka 14 runs.

Sri Lanka have bowled out Angelo Mathews (4-0-25-1).

Herath strikes in his third over, having Rohit (29) caught by Senanayeke at short cover.

Rohit's 26-ball knock was inclusive of three boundaries and he helped Kohli add 60 runs for the second ball.

Yuvraj Singh is the new batsman in.
19:40  Scorecard:

India: 41-1 (7 overs)

The first ball of Kulasekara's second over is flicked to the fence by Kohli. 

Sachithra Senanayeke replaces Kulasekara (2-0-10-0) in the attck in the fifth over. Rohit smashes the second ball over deep square leg for his first boundary. 

It's a twin bowling change, Lasith Malinga replacing Mathews (2-0-5-1) in the attack in the sixth over. Rohit smashes the sixth ball to the fence as eight runs come off the over.

Third bowling change for India, Rangana Herath coming in to bowl the seventh over. He is unfortunate as Malinga puts down Kohli (on 11) off his first ball at midwicket. 

kohli expresses his gratitude with a huge six off the last ball.
19:19  Scorecard:

India: 4-1 (2 overs)

Ajinkya Rahane and Rohit Sharma open the batting for India while it will be Nuwan Kulasekara first up for Sri Lanka. Four runs come off the first over. 

Angelo Mathews to bowl with the second new ball. He strikes with his third ball, rattling Rahane's (3) timber.

The in-form Virat Kohli is the new batsman at the crease. 
Sri Lanka won the toss and captain Lasith Malinga had no hesitation in inviting India to bat first.

"We want to do well," he says. MS Dhoni, his Indian counterpart, concurs with the decision.

"We were looking to bowl first also as we have chased well so far," he said, adding, "But I don't think the wicket will change much."

India has named an unchanged squad while Sri Lanka have Thisara Perera coming in for Seekkuge Prasanna.
18:39  Good evening and welcome to the live coverage of the ICC World T20 final between India and Sri Lanka in Mirpur.

The toss has been delayed by 40 minutes due to a wet outfield. 

We will keep you posted.