NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News 

World T20 Updates: Herath's five takes Sri Lanka to semi-finals

Write a comment

March 31, 2014


New Zealand: 60-9 (15.3 overs)
Sri Lanka: 119-10 (19.2 overs)

Kane Williamson (42) is run out in the 16th over. It's all over. 

Herath takes his fifth wicket in his final over, having Boult (3) caught by Jayawardene. 

Herath ends with figures of five for three and Sri Lanka win by 60 runs to make the semis. New Zealand bowled out for just 60 in 15.3 overs.

New Zealand: 51-7 (14 overs)
Sri Lanka: 119-10 (19.2 overs)

Sachithra Senanayeke is given the ball in the 10th over, replacing Herath (3-2-2-4). He strikes first ball, having Nathan McCullum (2) caught by Mathews at midwicket. 

Kyle Mills joins Williamson at the crease. All New Zealand hopes rest on the latter. At the halfway mark the kiwis are 33 for six. 

A boundary by Mills off Mathews helps NZ reach the 50-run mark, in the 13th over. However, Senanayeke traps him leg before in the next over. 

Trent Boult is the new batsman.

New Zealand: 30-5 (8 overs)
Sri Lanka: 119-10 (19.2 overs)

More trouble for New Zealand as Herath has Ross Taylor (0) out leg before. And in the next cleans up James Neesham.

Herath has two maidens and three wickets. He strikes again in his third over, having Luke Ronchi (2) out leg before.

NZ reduced to 30 for five in the eighth over.

New Zealand: 23-2 (5 overs)
Sri Lanka: 119-10 (19.2 overs)

Martin Guptill and Kane Willaimson open the batting and it will be Nuwan Kulasekara first up for Sri Lanka. Four runs come off the first over. 

Angelo Mathews to bowl the second over. Williamson hits the sixth ball to the fence. Rangana Herath replaces him in the fourth over, and Guptill (5) is run out in the first ball. 

In the final ball of the over, Brendon McCullum (0) is out stumped. 

New Zealand in trouble early on. Worse is Corey Anderson won't bat.

Sri Lanka: 119-10 (19.2 overs)

McClenaghan is through with his spell (4-0-24-2). A boundary by Senanayeke, off Neesham, helps Sri Lanka get past the 100-run mark in the 18th over. 

The batsman is licku as Anderson puts him down at long on. What more it goes for a six. 

Mills gets his first wicket in his final over, the penultimate of the innings, having Perera (16) caught by Williamson. 

Neesham to finish off. He gets a wicket off the first ball again, having Senannayeke (17) caught by Williamson.

In the next ball, Lasith Malinga (0) drags one onto his stumps. Sri Lanka have been bowled out for 119. 

Sri Lanka: 93-7 (16 overs)

Angelo Mathews is the new batsman and Nathan McCullum is the new bowler. 

McClanaghan is back in the 14th ball and he strikes fifth ball, having Mathews (6) caught behind. 

And as McCullum bowls Jayawardene (25) round his legs, New Zealand's dominance is underlined. 

McClenaghan accounts for Nuwan Kulasekara (0), caught by Nathan McCullum at short extra cover, in his final over.

Sri Lanka: 73-4 (12 overs)

Lahiru Thirimanne is the new batsman. 

Mitchell McClenaghan into the attack in the seventh over. He's unfortunate as Thirimanne's edge brushes past Brendon McCullum's finger tips in the second slip. 

Boult will finish his spell here. Four on the trot for him. He ends with impressive figures of three for 20.

Jimmy Neesham replaces McClenaghan (2-0-12-0) in the attack in the 12th over and strikes first ball, having Thirimanne (20) caught by Martin Guptill at backward point. 

Sri Lanka: 35-3 (6 overs)

Mahela Jayawardene joins Dilshan at the crease. 

Dilshan (8) tries a Dilscoop one too many and Boult has him caught behind in his second over. 

Kumar Sangakkara is the new man in. 

New Zealand make their first bowling change in the fifth over, Corey Anderson, coming in for Mills (2-0-18-0). He gives away just a single. 

Sangakkara (4) albeit eases the pressure with a boundary in Boult's third over. However, in the same over the bowler has Sanga caught by Anderson.

Sri Lanka: 20-0 (2 overs)

Kusal Perera and Tillekeratne Dilshan open the batting for Sri Lanka and it will be Kyle Mills first up for New Zealand. 

Perera hits the third ball to the fence and the fifth ball over it as 12 runs come off the first over. Trent Boult to bowl the second over. Perera hits the second ball backward of square to the fence. 

However, Boult has the last word, having Perera (16) caught behind three balls later.
18:37  New Zealand won the toss and had no hesitation in inviting Sri Lanka to bat first in their Group 1 match in Chittagong. 

"It seems the right thing to do in these conditions," reasons captain Brendon McCullum. 

It's a must win game for both, with the winner progressing to the last four. 

Sri Lanka is without their regular captain Dinesh Chandimal, who's suspended for maintaining a slow over rate. Lasith Malinga is the new captain.