NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News 

IPL updates! Rajasthan thrash Delhi by 62 runs in Motera

Write a comment

May 15, 2014


Delhi: 139-9 (20 overs)
Rajasthan: 201-6 (20 overs)

Imran Tahir is the new man in. Bibby cleans him up soon after. 

Shukla (14) hits a couple of boundaries before hitting straight to Smith at extra cover, giving Cooper his first wicket. 

Tiwary (61 not out) completes his fifty with a single off Cooper. 

Delhi manage just 139-9, helping Rajasthan win by 62 runs.

Delhi: 90-7 (14 overs)
Rajasthan: 201-6 (20 overs)

Rajat Bhatia strikes again in his second over, catching Taylor (4) off his own bowling. 

Delhi's poor run continues as Cutting runs out Kedar Jadhav (3) in the 12th over. 

Tiwary smashes a six off Bhatia but it is too little, too late. Delhi's chase is over. 

Cutting adds to their woes cleaning up Shahbaz Nadeem (1)

Delhi: 57-4 (9 overs)
Rajasthan: 201-6 (20 overs)

JP Duminy comes in at No.4. Pravin Tambe is handed the ball in the seventh over. 

Duminy smashes the fourth ball for a huge six. However, the bowler hits back the next ball, having Duminy (8) caught by Nair at point. 

Rajat Bhatia to bowl the eighth over. He strikes with his fourth ball, shattering Pietersen's (13) stumps. 

Ross Taylor replaces his captain at the crease. 

Delhi: 34-2 (6 overs)
Rajasthan: 201-6 (20 overs)

Pietersen has survived thanks to an umpiring error. He was clearly run out. Let's see if he can take advantage of the good fortune.

Kulkarni provides Rajasthan with their second wicket, having Karthik (3). 

Delhi: 25-1 (2 overs)
Rajasthan: 201-6 (20 overs)

Kevin Pietersen and Mayank Agarwal open the batting for Delhi and it will be Dhaval Kulkarni first up for Rajasthan. 

Agarwal smashes the third ball to the fence and is fortunate as Ben Cutting puts him down at fine leg in the next ball. 

Cutting to bowl the second over. Agarwal hits boundaries off either side off the first two balls. 

The first bowling change happens in the third over, James Faulkner coming in. He strikes third ball, having Agarwal (17) caught by Steven Smith.

Dinesh Karthik is the new man in.

Rajasthan: 201-6 (20 overs)

Stuart Binny comes and goes, stumped off Tahir. The South African gets another wicket off his last ball, having Samson (40) caught by Kedar Jadhav in the deep. 

Tahir ends with impressive figures (4-0-25-2). Nadeem has been a bit expensive (4-0-35-2). 

James Faulkner and Ben Cutting, in for Watson, are the two new batsmen at the crease. The latter smashes Tiwary for a huge six (101 meters) over deep midwicket. 

Faulkner also helps himself to a six as Tiwary concedes 17 runs in what is the penultimate over. Rahul Shukla to bowl the final over. 

Faulkner (23 not out) smashes the fourth ball for a huge six over deep midwicket. The fifth ball yields the same result, ensuring Rajasthan get past the 200-run mark. 

It's the highest total for Rajasthan in this IPL.

Rajasthan: 167-3 (17 overs)

Manoj Tiwary replaces Nadeem (3-0-25-1) in the attack in the 12th over. Samson smashes the third ball for a six to help Rajasthan get past the 100-run mark. Three balls later, Rahane finds the boundary again. 

Sid Kaul returns to bowl in the 15th over and Samson helps himself to a couple of sixes in the over. 

Rahul Shukla bowls the 16th over. Rahane finds a boundary in the fourth ball to reach a weel-deserved fifty. 

Nadeem strikes in his last over, cleaning up Rahane (64). Rahane's 50-ball innings was inclusive of eight boundaries and a six and he helped Samson add 74 runs (off just 39 balls) for the third wicket.

Rajasthan: 97-2 (11 overs)

Kevon Cooper is promoted up the order and he begins with a straight six off Nadeem, followed by another over extra-cover.

In Imran Tahir's second over, Cooper helps himself to a couple of boundaries. 

Duminy replaces Tahir in the 11th over and Cooper smashes the first ball for a huge six. 

However, Duminy has the last laugh, having Cooper (32) caught by Shukla at extra cover. Cooper's 16-ball knock was inclusive of two boundaries and three sixes and he helped Rahane add 49 runs for the second wicket.

Rajasthan: 43-0 (6 overs)

Siddharth Kaul to bowl the third over. He gives away just a single. However, his second over is an expensive one, 16 runs coming off it, with Nair hitting a six over extra cover and a boundary over the same region. 

Shahbaz Nadeem replaces Shukla (2-0-15-0) in the attack in the sixth over and strikes third ball, having Nair (19) out leg before. Strategic timeout is taken immediately after.

Rajasthan: 19-0 (2 overs)

Ajinkya Rahane and Karun Nair open the batting for Rajasthan and it will be Jen-Paul Duminy starting the proceedings for Delhi. 

Rahane smashes the second ball past point for the first boundary of the innings as seven runs come off the over. 

Rahul Shukla to bowl the second over. He gives away 12 runs, with Rahane helping himself to two boundaries.
20:11  There's been a drizzle in Motera. 

It has delayed the start. 

The drizzle though has stopped and the match will start in about 15 minutes. 
Good evening and welcome to the live coverage of the Indian Premier League match between Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Daredevils at Motera. 

The news is Shane Watson is out with a niggle and Steven Smith will captain Rajasthan today. 

Delhi has won the toss and invited Rajasthan to have a bat first.

"We want to back ourselves to chase the total," reasons captain Kevin Pietersen. His opposite number isn't too perturbed with the toss loss. 

"We wanted to bat first," he says. 

Both the teams have made quite a few changes to their respective line-ups.