NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » 2011 World Cup: Hosts could play quarters, semis at home

2011 World Cup: Hosts could play quarters, semis at home

December 01, 2009 20:26 IST

The host countries of the 2011 cricket World Cup may get to play the quarter-finals and semi-finals matches in their home country if their teams reach those stages.

It means if Bangladesh reaches the semi-final stage it could host the match, though Colombo and Mohali are scheduled to host the first and second semi-final respectively.

The ICC Chief Executives' Committee has made a recommendation in this regard to the ICC Board, which will consider it in its next meeting. The recommnedation came in the CEC meeting in Dubai on Tuesday.

"The CEC supported a request from the Central Organising Committee that, where possible, host countries should play their quarter-finals and semi-finals in their home country.

"Where two co-hosts are involved, the higher-ranked side from the group stage will host the match. This recommendation will now be considered by the Board," an ICC statement said.

The quarter-final stage of the mega event, to be co-hosted by India, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh, will begin from March 23

In another important decision, a five-member committee, which also has BCCI secretary N Sriniwasan, has been formed to look into the context for Test and one-day cricket formats post 2012 Future Tour Programme. The committee comprising David Richardson, David Collier, James Sutherland, Nishantha Ranatunga and Srinivasan will draft a discussion paper for the CEC to consider at its next meeting.

The CEC also endorsed ICC's move to work with its stakeholders in forming a coalition to actively address and counteract online piracy.

The CEC approved the Women's Committee's recommendation that the top four women's sides from the ICC World Twenty20 2010 in the West Indies will earn direct qualification for the ICC World Twenty20 in 2012 in Sri Lanka, while the remaining four teams will come through a qualification process.

The CEC granted ODI status to the Olympic Stadium in Sydney and temporary ODI status to Kon. UDCC in Amsterdam for the ICC World Cricket League to be staged in July next year.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.