» Sports » Australia name 30-member CT squad

Australia name 30-member CT squad

Source: PTI
July 23, 2009 14:36 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

With a view to build a team for the 2011 World Cup, Australian selectors on Thursday included three new faces while leaving out batsman Brad Hodge in the preliminary squad of 30 for the ICC Champions Trophy to be held in September in South Africa.

Tasmania wicketkeeper Tim Paine, Victoria spinner Jon Holland and New South Wales all-rounder Moises Henriques figured in the probables' list for the September 22 to October 5 tournament.

The squad must be trimmed to 15 players by August 23.

The squad does not include controversial all-rounder Andrew Symonds, who was sent back home from England on disciplinary grounds just before the start of Twenty20 World Cup besides scrapping his Cricket Australia contract.

Fast bowler Brett Lee, who suffered a side-strain injury just before the first Ashes Test, and injury-prone all-rounder Shane Watson also made the cut.

National Selection Panel Chairman Andrew Hilditch said the squad was picked with a view to rebuild a side for the 2011 World Cup as well as to make it strong enough to defend the Champions Trophy title which they won in India in 2006.

"The Australian side is currently in a rebuilding phase as we prepare for the 2011 ICC World Cup, following the loss of so many important players from the 2007 World Cup-winning team.

The ICC Champions Trophy is a key event in international cricket and a very important one for Australia as we look to lift our ODI performances to retain this trophy," Hilditch said.

"The squad recognises the performances of our proven one-day international players, the strong performance of the Australia A side in the recent one-day series against Pakistan A and the performances of our interstate players in the Ford Ranger Cup.

"The squad sees the inclusion of several exciting young players who we see as potentially very important to our future including Phillip Hughes, Callum Ferguson, Moises Henriques, Jon Holland, Tim Paine and Clinton McKay," Hilditch said. 

The Probables: Ricky Ponting (capt.), Michael Clarke (vice-capt.) Doug Bollinger, Nathan Bracken, Callum Ferguson, Brett Geeves, Brad Haddin, Ryan Harris, Nathan Hauritz, Moises Henriques, Ben Hilfenhaus, Jon Holland, James Hopes, Phillip Hughes, David Hussey, Mike Hussey, Mitchell Johnson, Jason Krejza, Brett Lee, Shaun Marsh, Andrew McDonald, Clinton McKay, Marcus North, Tim Paine, Peter Siddle, Shaun Tait, Adam Voges, David Warner, Shane Watson, Cameron White.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2021 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

New Zealand Tour of India, 2021