» Sports » Squad for West Indies: Nehra, Badrinath, Nayar in, Raina out

Squad for West Indies: Nehra, Badrinath, Nayar in, Raina out

Last updated on: June 17, 2009 16:45 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

The All-India Selection Committee picked the Indian team for the tour of the West Indies later this month on Wednesday.

Two of the selectors, the chairman Krish Srikkanth and Raja Venkat, already monitoring the team's progress in in the UK, communicated with their three colleagues via a teleconference.

The Indian captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, coach Gary Kirsten, and N Srinivasan, the Hony. Secretary of the BCCI and Convener of the All-India Selection Committee also participated in the meeting.

Mumbai all-rounder Abhishek Nayar is the lone new face in the team that also witnessed the return of Delhi left arm paceman Ashish Nehra.

Suresh Raina was not considered for selection as he has sustained a hairline fracture on his thumb and has been advised two weeks' rest.

Zaheer Khan has been rested and Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar, as reported earlier, had made a request that he be rested for the tour.

The team for West Indies:

Mahendra Singh Dhoni (Captain), Yuvraj Singh (vice-captain), Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Harbhajan Singh, Pragyan Ojha, Yusuf Pathan, Murali Vijay, S Badrinath, RP Singh, Praveen Kumar, Ishant Sharma, Abhishek Nayar, Ashish Nehra, Ravindra Jadeja, Dinesh Karthik.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox: