NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Botha, Abdulla in South Africa's T20 squad

Botha, Abdulla in South Africa's T20 squad

May 04, 2009 16:14 IST

Under the scanner for his suspect action, spinner Johan Botha was on Monday appointed deputy to captain Graeme Smith while teen batting sensation Wayne Parnell was also included in the 15-member South African cricket squad for next month's Twenty20 World Championship in England.

Botha, who was reported for suspect action for the second time in his career this year during the one-day series against Australia, has to undergo tests to prove the legality of his action but remains eligible for selection.

The 19-year-old Parnell, meanwhile, created quite a flutter by becoming South African cricketer to bag a central contract.

"The players are all in good form and it is particularly pleasing to have so many quality all-rounders at our disposal. As always, there are a couple of unlucky players and that emphasises the excellent competition we have for places," chief selector Mike Procter said in a statement.

"Form in the Standard Bank Pro20 domestic competition was a key factor in our selection process and it was encouraging to note how high the standard of our domestic cricket is at the moment," he added.

The rest of the squad offers little surprises and has regulars like in-form J P Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs and Jacques Kallis.

Pacer Yusuf Abdulla, who tops the wicket-takers' list in the Indian Premier League right now, has also been included.

"I am delighted with the squad the selectors have given me. It is a team with plenty of options -- great depth to the batting and plenty of bowling options. It is also an outstanding fielding unit," national coach Mickey Arthur said.

The group will gather for a training camp at the end of the month.

The squad: Graeme Smith (capt), Johan Botha (vice-capt), Yusuf Abdulla, Mark Boucher, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Herschelle Gibbs, Jacques Kallis, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Robbie Peterson, Dale Steyn, Roelof van der Merwe.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.