NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Stats highlights: Bangalore vs Hyderabad, IPL final

Stats highlights: Bangalore vs Hyderabad, IPL final

May 25, 2009 10:53 IST

Statistical highlights of the Indian Premier League final between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Deccan Chargers in Johannesburg, on Sunday.

# Deccan Chargers won the IPL Trophy with a superb six-run victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore. Last year they had finished bottom in the eight-team tournament.

# The inaugural competition was won by Rajasthan Royals with a three-wicket victory over Chennai Super Kings at Mumbai.

# Adam Gilchrist was adjudged the Player of the Tournament, thanks to his brilliant captaincy, 495 runs (ave.30.93) in 16 matches as batsman and 18 dismissals as wicketkeeper -- 10 catches + 8 stumpings.

# Gilchrist's runs tally is exceeded only by Matthew Hayden -- 572 (ave.52.00) in 12 matches.

# Anil Kumble (4 for 16) produced the best figures by a captain in the IPL, surpassing the 3 for 13 by Yuvraj Singh for Kings XI Punjab against Deccan Chargers at Johannesburg.

# Kumble's figures are the best ever in an IPL final, obliterating Yusuf Pathan's 3 for 22 for Rajasthan Royals against Chennai Super Kings at Mumbai.

# Rudra Pratap Singh, with 23 wickets at an average of 18.13 in 16 games, has surpassed the previous record for most wickets in a competition. Sohail Tanvir had taken 22 wickets (ave.12.09) in 11 matches in the inaugural season.

# Kumble's tally of 21 (ave.16.52) wickets in 16 matches is the next highest this year.

# Twice in the 2009 competition, Gilchrist has been dismissed by the opposing captain -- first time by Bangalore's Kevin Pietersen at Cape Town on April 22,2009 and the second time by Bangalore's Kumble at Johannesburg on May 24, 2009.

# Andrew Symonds, in the course of his 33 off 21 balls, completed his 400 runs in the IPL, making 410 (ave.45.55), including one hundred and one fifty in 12 matches.

# Herschelle Gibbs' with his unbeaten 53 off 48 balls posted his fourth fifty in the IPL.

# Harmeet Singh (2/23) recorded his best bowling performance in the IPL.

# Deccan Chargers' six-run victory is their second in five matches over Royal Challengers Bangalore.  In the Cape Town game on April 22, 2009, they had defeated Bangalore by 24 runs.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.