» Sports » Tendulkar best batsman, Ojha best bowler

Tendulkar best batsman, Ojha best bowler

Last updated on: April 24, 2010 10:00 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians captain Sachin Tendulkar was named best batsman while Deccan Chargers' Pragyan Ojha bagged the best bowler honour at a glitzy IPL Awards Night in Mumbai on Friday.

The IPL-3's most prolific batsman, Tendulkar, who turned 37 on Saturday, has 570 runs in his kitty from 14 matches, inclusive of five fifties.

- Tendulkar turns 37, wish him!

He beat back competition from Royal Challengers' batsmen Jacques Kallis (553 runs from 15) and Robin Uthappa (374 from 15) and Chennai Super Kings' Suresh Raina (463 from 15) and Murali Vijay (432 from 14) for the Jury Award for best batsman.

Tendulkar, who is uncertain to lead Mumbai Indians in Sunday's IPL final against Chennai Super Kings after splitting the webbing in his right hand during the first semi-final on April 21, was also named best batsman and best captain in the Viewers' Choice category.

Left-arm spinner Ojha is the most successful bowler of IPL III with 21 wickets in his kitty from 15 matches. He beat back competition from his team-mate Ryan Harris, Ravichandran Ashwin (Chennai Super Kings), R Vinay Kumar (Royal Challenger Banaglore) and Zaheer Khan (Mumbai Indians).

Delhi Daredevils' AB de Villiers was declared best fielder while West Indian Kieron Pollard was named for best debut performance for his superb all-round performance with the bat and ball.

Among other Jury Awards, Kallis, who also has 11 wickets from 15 matches, was named for the most consistent performance award.

The jury comprised Lalit Modi (chairman), Sunil Gavaskar, Brian Lara, Javagal Srinath, Simon Taufel and Harsha Bhogle.

The Awards Night was boycotted by the top brass of the Board of Control for Cricket in India.

BCCI president Shashank Manohar, secretary N Srinivasan, and IPL vice-chairman Niranjan Shah stayed away from the event while team owners Vijay Mallya (Royal Challengers Bangalore), Preity Zinta (Kings XI Punjab), Shilpa Shetty and Raj Kundra (Rajasthan Royals), Gayatri Reddy (Deccan Chargers) and Jay Mehta (Kolkata Knight Riders) turned up.

The entire IPL Governing Council, barring Sunil Gavaskar and IS Bindra, also shunned the event though most of the players were present.

The winners:

Jury Awards:

Best batsman: Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians)

Best bowler: Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers)

Best debut performance: Kieron Pollard (Mumbai Indians)

Best dramatic performance: Harbhajan Singh (Mumbai Indians)

Most consistent performer: Jacques Kallis (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Best breakthrough performance 2008: Brendon McCullum (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Best breakthrough performance 2009: Anil Kumble (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Best fielder: AB de Villiers (Delhi Daredevils)

Best ground: M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru

Best stadium experience: DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai

Viewers' choice awards:

Best catch: David Hussey (Kolkata Knight Riders)

Best batsman: Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians)

Best captain: Sachin Tendulkar (Mumbai Indians)

Best bowler: Pragyan Ojha (Deccan Chargers)

Best commentator: Ravi Shastri

Most stylish player: Robin Uthappa (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Most fan-friendly cricketer: Adam Gilchrist (Deccan Chargers)

Best fielder: Suresh Raina (Chennai Super Kings)

Statistical awards:

Most economical bowler: Ravichandran Ashwin (Chennai Super Kings)

Fastest hundred: Yusuf Pathan (Rajasthan Royals)

Highest percentage of runs Scored in boundaries: Virender Sehwag (Delhi Daredevils)

IPL captains' award:

Indian cricketing legend I would want in my team: Kapil Dev.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

India Tour of South Africa 2021-22