NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » SL recall Fernando, Silva for tri-series

SL recall Fernando, Silva for tri-series

August 07, 2010 16:19 IST

Sri Lanka on Saturday included paceman Dilhara Fernando and middle-order batsman Chamara Silva in their 15-man squad for the ODI tri-series against India and New Zealand beginning next week in Dambulla.

Fernando played in the second Test of the just-concluded Test series but made way for Lasith Malinga in the third Test, which India won by five wickets.

The Lankans dropped left-arm seamer Chanaka Welegedara and Thilina Kandamby and rested spinner Muttiah Muralitharan, who recently retired from Test cricket.

All-rounder Thisara Perera has also been included in the squad, to be led by Kumar Sangakkara in the series starting August 10.

Sri Lanka squad: Kumar Sangakkara (captain), Mahela Jayawardene, Chamara Silva, Thisara Perera, Dilhara Fernando, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Upul Tharanga, Angelo Mathews, Thilan Samaraweera, Chamara Kapugedera, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga, Nuwan Kulasekara, Rangana Herath. 

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.