NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » SA hope to start Indian tour on high

SA hope to start Indian tour on high

February 01, 2010 17:05 IST

Aiming to reclaim their numero uno status in the ICC Test ranking, South Africa will start their tour of India when they take on Board President's XI in a two-day practice match commencing in Nagpur on Tuesday.

Rohit SharmaMumbai batsman Rohit Sharma will lead the President's XI in the match before the two-Test series, in which a 2-0 win will ensure that the Proteas replace India on top of the ICC Test ranking.

South Africa was recently wrecked by a controversy when Mickey Arthur stepped down as coach citing differences with the cricket board last week.

The entire selection committee, headed by former all-rounder Mike Procter, was also sacked following a 1-1 draw with England at home series.

Graeme Smith's men, however, would try to leave these bitter memories behind and go all out to regain the top spot in Test rankings.

National high performance coach Corrie Van Zyl has been appointed as the interim coach for the visitors for the Indian tour which also includes a three-match ODI series.

On the other hand, young Indian players like paceman Abhimanyu Mithun, who have already got a call into the Test squad, Manpreet Gony and Shikhar Dhawan would also like to prove their mettle in the match.

It will also be a test for Rohit and Piyush Chawla to reclaim their spot in the Indian squad after being in and out of the team for sometime.

Teams (from):

South Africa: Graeme Smith (capt), Hashim Amla, Ashwell Prince, AB de Villiers, Jacques Kallis, Jean-Paul Duminy, Alviro Petersen, Mark Boucher, Paul Harris, Johan Botha, Ryan McLaren, Morne Morkel, Wayne Parnell, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

President's XI: Rohit Sharma (capt), Abhinav Mukund, Parthiv Patel, Ajinkya Rahane, Manish Pandey, Cheteshwar Pujara, Abhishek Nayar, Piyush Chawla, R Ashwin, Vinay Kumar, Abhimanyu Mithun, Shikhar Dhawan, Umesh Yadav, Manpreet Gony.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.