NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Mumbai beat Karnataka to win Ranji Trophy

Mumbai beat Karnataka to win Ranji Trophy

Last updated on: January 14, 2010 18:17 IST

Defending champions Mumbai won the Ranji Trophy for the 39th time when they beat Karnataka by six runs in the final in Mysore on Thursday.

Chasing 338 victory on the fourth day of the match, hosts Karnataka, who resumed the day on 135 for 3, folded for 331 despite a dogged 144 from Manish Pandey.

Pandey, who was unbeaten on 59 at close on Day 3, led Karnataka's fightback, scoring 18 fours and a six in his 151-ball knock before he was caught by Mumbai skipper Wasim Jaffer at slips off left-arm spinner Iqbal Abdulla.

He was involved in a 209-run fourth-wicket partnership with Ganesh Satish, who was the second highest scorer for the team with a patient 215-ball 75. But once the right-hander, who has a whopping 882 runs this season, departed minutes before lunch, Karnataka's innings fell apart, the team losing the next six wickets for just 76 runs.

Satish, who laboured for 318 minutes, was out leg before wicket to Dhawal Kulkarni.

Stuart Binny (17), Sunil Joshi (16) and R Vinay Kumar (15) batted with resolve to take Karnataka closer to the target, but quick strikes by Kulkarni and former India pacer Ajit Agarkar, who had figures of 5 for 81 in the second innings, adding two more wickets to the three he picked on Wednesday, enabled Mumbai win the keenly-contested final.


Mumbai (1st innings):
S Kukreja c Gautam b Vinay Kumar 0
W Jaffer c Satish b Vinay Kumar 3
A Rahane c Gautam b Vinay Kumar 14
OJ Khanvilkar b Mithun 25
A Nayar b Mithun 37
VR Samant c Pandey b Aravind 67
A Agarkar run out 6
R Powar c Pawan b Mithun 23
Iqbal Abdulla c Amit Verma b Vinay Kumar 30
D Kulkarni c & b Joshi 20
A Salvi not out 0
Extras: (B-1, LB-3, NB-4) 8
Total: (all out in 79 overs) 233

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-19, 3-20, 4-84, 5-100, 6-106, 7-143, 8-184, 9-229, 10-233.

Bowling: R Vinay Kumar 20-6-61-4, A Mithun 14-1-56-3, S Aravind 17-5-48-1, S Binny 7-3-11-0, S Joshi 14-4-33-1, Amit Verma 6-1-13-0, R Uthappa 1-0-7-0.

Karnataka (1st innings): (overnight 15 for 1)
KB Pawan c Powar b Salvi 33
R Uthappa c Jaffer b Kulkarni 9
R Vinay Kumar c Nayyar b Agarkar 2
Ganesh Satish c Khanvilkar b Salvi 10
Manish Pandey 
lbw b Salvi 0
Amit Verma c Agarkar b Nayyar 8
CM Gautam c Jaffre b Kulkarni 16
Stuart Binny (run out) 13
Sunil Joshi c Sawant b Salvi 17
Abhimanyu Mithun lbw b Salvi 5
Sreenath Aravind (not out) 4
Extras: (LB-6, NB-7) 13
Total: (all out in 49.3 overs) 130

Fall of wickets: 1-10, 2-26, 3-53, 4-53, 5-58, 6-71, 7-95, 8-120, 9-120.

Bowling: Ajit Agarkar 12-4-30-1; Daval Kulkarni 19-2-52-2; Avishkar Salvi 13.3-6-31-5; Abhishek Nayyar 4-1-9-1; Romesh Powar 1-0-2-0.

Mumbai (2nd innings):
S Kukreja  c Satish b Vinay Kumar 13
 W Jaffer  c Gautam b Mithun 8
 A Rahane  c Gautam b Mithun 4
 O Khanvilkar  lbw Mithun 0
 A Nayar  c Pandey b Joshi 50
 V Samant  c Satish b Mithun 10
 D Kulkarni  c Pawan b Vinay Kumar 87
 A Agarkar  c Uthappa b Mithun 4
 I Abdulla  c Gautam b Vinay Kumar 15
 R Powar  not out 28
 A Salvi  c Amit Verma b Mithun 0
 Extras: (b 10, lb 3, w 1, nb 1) 15
 Total: 234

Fall of wickets: 1-10, 2-18, 3-18, 4-34, 5-51, 6-146, 7-150, 8-172, 9-233.

Bowling: Vinay Kumar 25-6-78-3; Mithun 22.3-4-71-6; Aravind 15-4-40-0; Sunil Joshi 19-12-31-1, Amit Verma 2-1-1-0.

Karnataka (2nd innings):
 K Pawan lbw b Agarkar 23
 C Gautam c Jaffer b Agarkar 0
 G Satish lbw b Kulkarni 75
 R Uthappa c Samant b Agarkar 4
 M Pandey c Jaffer b Iqbal Abdulla 144
 A Verma c Samant b Iqbal Abdulla 2
 S Binny b Kulkarni 17
 S Joshi c Samant b Agarkar 16
 Vinay Kumar b Kulkarni 15
 S Aravind c & b Agarkar 10
 A Mithun not out 1
 Extras: (b 9, lb 1, w 5, nb 9) 24     
 Total: (all out; 88.4 overs) 331 (3.73 runs per over) 

Fall of wickets: 1-1, 2-42, 3-46, 4-255, 5-258, 6-260, 7-296, 8-303, 9-322.

Bowling: Agarkar 22.4-6-81-5; D Kulkarni 21-3-80-3; A Salvi 15-3-66-0; A Nayar 11-4-19-0; R Powar 11-0-44-0; Iqbal Abdulla 8-0-31-2.