» Sports » Stats: Mirpur Test (Day III)

Stats: Mirpur Test (Day III)

Source: PTI
January 26, 2010 19:27 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Following are the statistical highlights on day three of the second and final cricket Test between India and Bangladesh at Mirpur on Tuesday.

# Junaid Siddique and Tamim Iqbal put on exactly 200 for the second wicket, which is Bangladesh's highest for any wicket in Tests, beating the 191 between Mohammad Ashraful and Mushfiqur Rahim against Sri Lanka at Colombo PSS in July 2007.

# Their previous highest stand against India was 115 for the fifth wicket between Aftab Ahmed and Mohammad Ashraful at Chittagong in December 2004.

# Bangladesh's previous best second wicket partnership was the 187 between Habibul Bashar and Shahriar Nafees against Australia at Fatullah in 2005-06.

# India (544 for eight wickets declared) have recorded their second highest total against Bangladesh, next only to the 610 for three wickets declared at Dhaka in May 2007.

# Shafiul Islam (3/86) has recorded his best figures in Tests.

# Tamim Iqbal's excellent innings of 151 off 183 balls is his second hundred and the career-best in Tests.

# Tamim's first century in Tests was 128 against the West Indies at Kingstown in July 2009.

# Tamim (0 & 151)is the first opener from Bangladesh to make a hundred and a duck in the same Test match against India. He became the third to do so in Tests for Bangladesh, joining Javed Omar -- 119 & 0 against Pakistan at Peshawar in 2003 and Mohammad Ashraful -- 0 & 129 not out against Sri Lanka at Colombo PSS in 2007.

# Tamim, during his superb knock, has set a record for the quickest Test hundred for Bangladesh, taking 101 balls, beating the 112-ball hundred by Mushfiqur Rahim at Chittagong in the first Test of the preent series.

# Tamim took 180 balls to reach 150 -- the quickest for Bangladesh in Tests.

# Tamim is the first Bangladesh opener to post a Test hundred against India. He is also the first opener to make two Test centuries for Bangladesh -- the other three openers to make centuries are Javed Omar (vs Pakistan at Peshawar in August 2003), Nafees Iqbal (vs Zimbabwe at Dhaka in January 2005) and Shahriar Nafees (vs Australia at Fatullah in April 2006).

# Junaid Siddique (55) has registered his first fifty against India -- his fifth overall.

# Bangladesh have conceded a lead of 300 or more to India on three occasions -- 492 at Mirpur in 2007; 342 at Dhaka in 2004-05 and 311 at Mirpur in 2010.

# Zaheer Khan's 19th Test duck is his second duck against Bangladesh. He has registered eight ducks at home and eleven overseas.

# Only two Indians have recorded more ducks than Zaheer -- Bhagwat Chandrasekhar (23) and Bishan Singh Bedi (20). 

# Dhoni's brilliant 89 off 167 balls is his highest innings Bangladesh, bettering the 51 not out at Dhaka in May 2007. His 17th half-century in Tests is his second against Bangladesh.

# Dhoni has aggregated 843 runs at an average of 70.25, including two centuries and eight fifties, in 11 Tests.

# Dhoni has produced five dismissals in an innings, followed by two in the second and a fifty in the same Test match for the second time -- the first occasion being the  52 & 56 not out plus six catches in the first innings followed by one in the second innings against New Zealand at Wellington in April 2009. He is the only captain in the history of Tests to do so twice.

# Syed Kirmani (66 & 6 and 5 catches) was the first Indian wicketkeeper to register the feat against Pakistan at Faisalabad in January 1983.

# Mushfiqur Rahim is the first and only wicketkeeper from Bangladesh to effect five dismissals (4 catches + 1 stumping) in a Test innings and for the first time, both wicketkeepers from India and Bangladesh have produced five dismissals in an innings in the same Test match.

# For the first time for Bangladesh, eight bowlers had bowled in India's innings -- their record in Tests is nine in Sri Lanka's second innings total of 447 for six at Chittagong in 2008-09.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

IPL 2020

IPL 2020