NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Mumbai Indians play Highveld Lions in CLT20 opener

Mumbai Indians play Highveld Lions in CLT20 opener

Last updated on: June 29, 2010 13:30 IST

The Wanderers Stadium in Johannesburg, one of world cricket's most famous venues, will host the Champions League Twenty20 (CLT20) final after the format and match schedule for the second edition of the tournament was announced on Tuesday.

The CLT20, the grand finale of Twenty20 cricket between the world's champion teams, will start on Friday 10 September with a Group B clash between Sachin Tendulkar's Mumbai Indians and Alviro Petersen's Highveld Lions at Wanderers.

Wanderers, which has hosted some of cricket biggest matches including the 2003 World Cup final, 2007 ICC World Twenty20 final and the 2009 IPL final, will add another chapter to its storied history in September as teams from around the world battle to be crowned the best of the best.

Durban and Centurion have been awarded the semi-finals on September 24 and 25 respectively, with the final to be played at Wanderers on Sunday, September 26.

The 10 competing teams have been divided into two groups of five for a round robin phase before the top two teams from each group progress to the semi finals. The matches throughout the tournament have been evenly distributed across the four venues with each hosting at least five fixtures, including the final.

Mumbai and the Highveld Lions have been drawn in Group B alongside South Australia's Redbacks, Royal Challengers Bangalore and West Indies' representative which will be determined in late-July.

Group A includes 2010 Indian Premier League champions Mahendra Singh Dhoni's Chennai Super Kings, Australia's Twenty20 Big Bash champions Victoria, along with the Warriors (South Africa's Pro Series Champions), Wayamba (Sri Lanka) and Central Stags (New Zealand).

The matches in Group A start on September 11 in Port Elizabeth with virtual international-strength clashes between the Warriors and Wayamba in the early match, and Chennai Super Kings and Central Stags in the late fixture in Durban.

Centurion gets its first taste of CLT20 action the following day with a blockbuster Group B double-header between the Lions and South Australia, and Royal Challengers Bangalore and the qualified team from the West Indies.

A number of players have qualified to play for two or more teams, including Jacques Kallis (Warriors*, Royal Challengers Bangalore), Mark Boucher (Warriors*, Royal Challengers Bangalore), Makhaya Ntini (Warriors*, Chennai Super Kings), Kieron Pollard (South Australian Redbacks, Mumbai Indian), Dwayne Bravo (Victorian Bushrangers, Mumbai Indian) and Cameron White (Victorian Bushrangers*, Royal Challengers Bangalore).

New Zealand's Ross Taylor has become the first player in CLT20's short history to qualify for three teams, with his home province, Central Stags, and 'away' teams Victorian Bushrangers and Royal Challengers Bangalore qualifying for the event.

If Trinidad & Tobago emerge as champions of the West Indies Cricket Board's domestic Twenty20 competition, Pollard and Bravo will also join Taylor with three options for the tournament.

As was the case in 2009, if a player is selected to play for an 'away' team rather than his 'home' team (the team from the country he is eligible to represent in international cricket), the 'away' team must pay US$200,000 compensation to the 'home' team.

The 'Away' teams are not eligible for compensation if a player chooses to play for his 'home' team.

Note: * designates 'home' team

Champions League Twenty20 competing teams:

Chennai Super Kings (DLF Indian Premier League – India)
Mumbai Indians (DLF Indian Premier League – India)
Royal Challengers Bangalore (DLF Indian Premier League – India)
Victorian Bushrangers (KFC Twenty20 Big Bash – Australia)
South Australian Redbacks (KFC Twenty20 Big Bash – Australia)
Warriors (Standard Bank Pro 20 Series – South Africa)
Highveld Lions (Standard Bank Pro 20 Series – South Africa)
Central Stags (HRV Cup Twenty20 – New Zealand)
Wayamba Elevens (Inter-Provincial Twenty20 Cup – Sri Lanka)
TBC (West Indies Domestic Twenty20 Champions)




Chennai Super Kings (India)


Mumbai Indians (India)


Warriors (SA)


Highveld Lions (SA)


Victorian Bushrangers (Aus)


South Australian Redbacks (Aus)


Wayamba Elevens (SL)


Royal Challengers Bangalore (India)


Central Stags (NZ)


TBC – West Indies Domestic T20 winners


Fri 10 Sep Mumbai Indians v Highveld Lions Johannesburg 1730
Sat 11 Sep Warriors v Wayamba Elevens Port Elizabeth 1330
Chennai Super Kings v Central Stags Durban 1730
Sun 12 Sep Highveld Lions v South Australian Redbacks Centurion 1330
Royal Challengers Bangalore v TBC Centurion 1730
Mon 13 Sep Warriors v Victorian Bushrangers Port Elizabeth 1730
Tue 14 Sep Mumbai Indians v South Australian Redbacks Durban 1730
Wed 15 Sep Victorian Bushrangers v Central Stags Centurion 1330
Chennai Super Kings v Wayamba Elevens Centurion 1730
Thu 16 Sep Mumbai Indians v TBC Durban 1730
Fri 17 Sep South Australian Redbacks v Royal Challengers Bangalore Durban 1730
Sat 18 Sep Warriors v Central Stags Port Elizabeth 1330
Chennai Super Kings v Victorian Bushrangers Port Elizabeth 1730
Sun 19 Sep Highveld Lions v TBC Johannesburg 1330
Mumbai Indians v Royal Challengers Bangalore Durban 1730
Mon 20 Sep Victorian Bushrangers v Wayamba Elevens Centurion 1730
Tue 21 Sep South Australian Redbacks v TBC Johannesburg 1330
Highveld Lions v Royal Challengers Bangalore Johannesburg 1730
Wed 22 Sep Wayamba Elevens v Central Stags Port Elizabeth 1330
Chennai Super Kings v Warriors Port Elizabeth 1730
Fri 24 Sep Semi Final 1 Durban 1730
Sat 25 Sep Semi Final 2 Centurion 1730
Sun 26 Sep Final Johannesburg 1730
Note: All times listed are South African Standard Time (SAST)