NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Stats highlights: Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe, World Twenty20

Stats highlights: Sri Lanka vs Zimbabwe, World Twenty20

May 04, 2010 11:50 IST

# Thissara Perera and Suraj Randiv were making their T20 debut. They became the 35th and 36th players respectively, to represent Sri Lanka in this format of the game.

# Craig Ervine and Charles Coventry were making their T20 debut for Zimbabwe. Now 24 players have represented Zimbabwe in this format of the game.

# Mahela Jayawardene (100) became the first Sri Lankan and fourth batsman to score a hundred in T20s. Other batsmen to have achieved the feat are Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum and Suresh Raina.

# Jayawardene took 63 balls to reach the three-figure mark, which makes it the slowest hundred in T20s. Gayle and McCullum completed their tons in 50 balls, while Raina took 60 deliveries to reach the landmark figure.

# Jayawardene's innings is so far the best by a Sri Lankan batsman in T20s. The previous best was 96 not out by Tillakaratne Dilshan against the West Indies at the Oval on June 19, 2009.

# Jayawardene's score was also the highest by any batsman against Zimbabwe, obliterating England's Kevin Pietresen's 79 at Cape Town on September 13, 2007.

# This was Jayawardene's fourth fifty-plus score in a World Cup. He has equalled India's Gautam Gambhir's and Australia's Matthew Hayden's record of most fifties in the World Cup.

# Jayawardene became first batsman to aggregate 400 runs in a World Cup during his innings. His tally stands at 494 runs at the end of the match against Zimbabwe.

# Jayawardene also became the first batsman to hit 50 fours in the World Cup. He has now hit 51 boundaries in the World Cup.

# Jayawardene also completed 600 runs in T20s during his innings to become the third Sri Lankan (after Tillakaratne Dilshan and Sanath Jayasuriya) and seventh batsman overall.

# Incidentally Jayawardene - with 622 runs - now holds the record of highest run-aggregate by a Sri Lankan batsman in T20s.

# Tillakaratne Dilshan completed 1500 runs in Twenty20 games during his brief innings. HeĀ  became the fourth Sri Lankan after Kumar Sangakkara (1984), Mahela Jayawardene (1911) and Sanath Jayasuriya (1773) and 26th batsman overall to do so.

# Sri Lanka won this game through the Duckworth-Lewis method. This was the sixth time that a T20I was decided by D/L method. Four of these games have been won by sides batting first. Interestingly this was the first time an innings was curtailed after exactly 5 overs, which is the minimum length of a match for applying the D/L method.

# This was the second time Sri Lanka won a game by D/L method. They had beaten New Zealand by 18 runs (batting second) at Wellington on December 22, 2006.

# Jayawardene won his second Man of the Match award in T20s.