NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » McLaren takes five as South Africa beat Windies

McLaren takes five as South Africa beat Windies

May 20, 2010 08:49 IST

Seam bowler Ryan McLaren took five for 19 to lead South Africa to a 13-run win over West Indies in their Twenty20 international at the Sir Vivian Richards stadium on Wednesday.

On a tricky, two-paced pitch and in windy conditions, Jacques Kallis struck 53 from 51 balls and skipper Graeme Smith made 37 as South Africa reached 136 for seven.

The dismissals of South African openers Smith and Loots Bosman were both curious in that the batsmen "walked," declaring themselves out. Both could have survived had they stood their ground.

Bosman flicked a leg-side delivery from Jerome Taylor to keeper Andre Fletcher but the umpire signalled a wide while Smith was stumped off Nikita Miller but the television replay showed his foot was behind the crease when the bails were removed.

West Indies skipper Chris Gayle (14) and Dwayne Bravo (20) both failed to make the big scores their team needed and only Kieron Pollard (27 from 20) managed to find the middle of the bat.

Despite some loose bowling at the end from the Souh Africans, with 13 extras conceded, West Indies ended up all out in the final over, with McLaren getting a just reward for some intelligent bowling.

Both teams failed to make it from the Super Eight stage of the Twenty20 World Cup, which was won by England on Sunday.

South Africa, who dropped keeper Mark Boucher and asked batsman AB de Villiers to take the gloves, will now fancy their chances of completing a victory in this two-match series.

The second game will be held on Thursday at the same venue before the two teams begin a five match ODI series and then three test matches.


South Africa
 G. Smith st Fletcher b Miller 37
 L. Bosman c Fletcher b Taylor 7
 J. Kallis c Sarwan b Pollard 53
 AB de Villiers c Taylor b Pollard 11
 JP Duminy b Roach 0
 J. Botha c Fletcher b Roach 0
 A. Petersen run out 6
 R. McLaren not out 6
 RE van der Merwe not out 4
 Extras: (lb-3, w-4, nb-5) 12
 Total: (seven wickets; 20 overs) 136

 Fall of wickets: 1-15, 2-88, 3-111, 4-115, 5-115, 6-122, 7-127

 Bowling: Roach 4-0-25-2 (1nb, 1w), Taylor 3-0-16-1, Benn 3-0-20-0, Sammmy 2-0-11-0, Bravo 1-0-14-0 (1w), Gayle, 1-0-12-0, Miller 2-0-13-1, Pollard 4-0-22-2 (2w).

 Did not bat: DW Steyn, CK Langeveldt.

 West Indies
 C. Gayle c Smith b McLaren 14
 A. Fletcher c de Villiers b McLaren 0
 D. Bravo c Amla b Botha 20
 R. Sarwan c Petersen b van der Merwe 13
 N. Deonarine st de Villiers b Botha 0
 K. Pollard b McLaren 27
 D. Sammy st de Villiers b McLaren 17
 N. Miller c de Villiers b Langeveldt 5
 J. Taylor run out 7
 S. Benn c Amla b McLaren 4
 K. Roach not out 3
 Extras: (lb-1, w-11, nb-1) 13
 Total: (all out; 19.5 overs) 123

 Fall of wickets: 1-14, 2-28, 3-48, 4-50, 5-52, 6-88, 7-99, 8-111, 9-120, 10-123.

 Bowling: Van der Merwe 3-0-17-1 (1w), Steyn 4-0-23-0 (1nb, 7w), McLaren 3.5-0-19-5 (2w), Langeveldt 3-0-31-1, Kallis 2-0-13-0, Botha 4-0-19-2 (1w).

© Copyright 2013 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.