NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Tendulkar is ICC Cricketer of the Year

Tendulkar is ICC Cricketer of the Year

Last updated on: October 06, 2010 18:44 IST

Sachin Tendulkar was named the ICC player of the year 2010 at the LG ICC awards in Bangalore on Wednesday.

It is the first time the Master Blaster won the Sir Garfield Sobers trophy.

Tendulkar also won the inaugural People's choice award, a new category, where fans vote for their favourite players on the ICC website.

Virender Sehwag was the other Indian on the honours list, taking the Test Player of the Year award.

South Africa's AB de Villiers won the ODI Player of the Year award for his amazing run of consistency that saw him score 855 runs in 16 ODIs (@ 71.25).

England's Steven Finn won the Emerging Player of the Year award.

M S Dhoni and Ricky Ponting were named captains of the ICC Test and ODI teams respectively.

Legendary West Indies cricketers Joel Garner and Courtney Walsh were inducted to the ICC Hall of Fame along with Rachael Hayhoe-Flint, the latter becoming the first ever woman to be inducted to the elite group.

Roll of honour:

The Cricketer of the Year: Sachin Tendulkar (India)

Test Player of the Year: Virender Sehwag (India)

ODI Player of the Year: AB de Villierss (South Africa)

Emerging Player: Steven Finn (England)

Associate and Affiliate Player of the Year: Ryan ten Doeschate

Twenty20 International performance of the Year: Brendon McCullum (New Zealand) [116 not out vs Australia in Christchurch].

Women's Cricketer of the Year: Shelley Nitschke (Australia)

Umpire of the Year: Aleem Dar (Pakistan)

Spirit of Cricket: New Zealand

People's choice Award: Sachin Tendulkar (India)

Hall of Fame inductees: Bishan Singh Bedi (India), Joel Garner (West Indies), Courtney Walsh (West Indies), Rachel Heyhoe-Flint (England).