NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Manohar, Srinivasan elected unopposed

Manohar, Srinivasan elected unopposed

Last updated on: September 28, 2010 20:26 IST

Shashank Manohar and N Srinivasan on Tuesday retained their posts of Board of Control for Cricket in India president and secretary respectively unopposed, with the closing of nominations ahead of Wednesday's 81st Annual General Meeting.

Srinivasan was also the lone nomination received for the president-elect's post -- to take over the reins of the BCCI at the 82nd AGM in September 2011, according to a media statement from the BCCI.

Also retaining their posts as treasurer and joint-secretary unopposed were M P Pandove and Sanjay Jagdale respectively at the closing of nominations.

There are two changes in the list of vice-presidents, with former secretary Niranjan Shah and Rajya Sabha MP Rajiv Shukla replacing Chirayu Amin and suspended IPL chairman Lalit Modi from West and Central zones respectively.

All the other sub-committees, including the Working Committee, the IPL Governing Council and selection committee for senior and junior teams, will be decided on Wednesday at the AGM.

The IPL Governing Council is to be reconstituted after an amendment to the Board's Memorandum of Rules and Regulations at the AGM by curtailing its tenure from the current five years to one year.

Shashank Manohar and N SrinivasanAccording to sources, Amin, Shah, Shukla, Jaitley and either Jyotiraditya Scindia or Anurag Thakur will be in the new committee, along with the elected principal office-bearers as ex-officio members.

The current panel has three ex-cricketers in it while the new GC will have only two, with Ravi Shastri expected to retain his post. Either Sunil Gavaskar or Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi will be retained, according to sources.

Besides this, all the members of the senior selection committee, headed by Krishnamachari Srikanth, are likely to be retained. The other members are Yashpal Sharma, Surendra Bhave, Raja Venkat and Narendra Hirwani.

With the World Cup just around the corner, it is believed in Board's precincts that continuity in selection matters is needed in the run-up to the mega event.

The move to reduce the IPL GC's tenure on par with those of the Board's other sub committees, done in the aftermath of the suspension of Modi against whom several charges of irregularities in running the Twenty20 League have been levelled, will effectively also see his ouster from the BCCI altogether.

The charges against Modi are currently being investigated by a three-member disciplinary panel of the Board whose findings will determine his future.

The AGM is also set to decide the venue of the second Test between India and New Zealand from November 12-16 after Kanpur, the original venue, and Kolkata have cried off from hosting the match.

Other routine matters, like passing of the annual report and accounts for fiscal year ending March 31, 2010 will be gone through.

The alleged discrepancy in the accounts of IPL III held in March-April this year will also be placed before the general body.

On Monday, there was an internal audit of these accounts by the IPL Governing Council and it was found that an amount of Rs 76.22 crore, through sales of hospitality tickets for the two semi-finals, the third place tie and the final, is allegedly unaccounted for, according to BCCI sources.

Tickets for the final, held at the D Y Patil Stadium on April 25, have also not been allegedly fully accounted for with only 30,000 tickets being shown to have been sold while the packed stadium accommodated over 50,000 spectators, the sources said.

Another alleged scandal that came to light was in connection with the deal signed by IPL for installation of baggage screening machines of spectators at various venues, according to the sources.

The deal was signed with a Delhi-based company which existed only on paper while the invoice for Rs 1.5 crore, of which Rs 70 lakh have been paid, was raised by a Bangalore firm. The IPL accounts allegedly showed that the contract with the Delhi firm was for Rs 5.5 crore.

The list of valid nominations:
President: Shashank Manohar
Vice-presidents: Niranjan Shah (West Zone), Rajiv Shukla (Central), Arindam Ganguly (East), Arun Jaitley (North) and N Shivlal Yadav (South)
Secretary: N Srinvasan
Joint secretary: Sanjay Jagdale
Treasurer: M P Pandove
President-elect (From South Zone): N Srinivasan.