Thu, 09 April 2015
IPL Live! Chennai edge Delhi by one run at Chepauk

Timeline  Refresh


Delhi: 149-9 (20 overs)
Chennai: 150-7 (20 overs)

Delhi need 19 off the last over. Bravo to bowl. 

Morkel hits the first ball to the fence. Tahir (2) is caught by Raina at midwicket in the third. 

Morkel smashes the fourth for a six over midwicket, takes a couple of the fifth and hits the last ball to the fence. 

He remains undefeated on 73, his 55-ball innings inclusive of eight boundaries and a six. 

But Chennai hang on to win by a run and start their campaign on a winning note.

Delhi: 110-6 (16 overs)
Chennai: 150-7 (20 overs)

Mohit has Kedar Jadhav (20) caught by Jadeja.

Dwayne Bravo strikes in his second over, having 16 mn dollar man Yuvraj Singh (9) caught by Ishwar Pandey at midwicket. 

Pandey returns in the next over, getting through Delhi captain JP Duminy's (5) defense.

Delhi: 47-3 (7 overs)
Chennai: 150-7 (20 overs)

Shreyas Iyer and Morkel are the two new batsmen at the crease. Delhi in trouble early on. Morkel eases the pressure with a boundary off Mohit. 

Nehra is given a third over and he strikes for a third time, having Iyer (7) caught by Du Plessis at extra cover. 

Kedar Jadhav is the new batsman. Delhi reach 40 for three after the powerplay (first six overs). 

Ishwar Pandey to bowl the seventh over, replacing Nehra (3-0-17-3). Morkel welcomes him with a boundary. 

Delhi: 20-2 (3 overs)
Chennai: 150-7 (20 overs)

C Gautham and Mayank Agarwal open the batting for Delhi while Ashish Nehra opens it for Chennai. Just four runs off the over. 

Mohit Sharma to bowl the second over. Mayank smashes the fifth ball for a huge six. 

Nehra strikes in his second over, having Gautham (4) caught by Bravo at mid-on.

Albie Morkel is the new man in. However, Nehra strikes a second time in the over, having Mayank (15) caught behind.

Chennai: 150-7 (20 overs)

Amit Mishra ends with impressive figures (4-0-21-1). Tahir also ends a good spell (4-0-27-1). The spin duo helped Delhi considerably. 

Coulter-Nile to bowl the final over. Dhoni hits the third and fourth ball ball for successive sixes.

However, Coulter-Nile (4-0-30-3) has the last laugh, having Dhoni (30) caught by Mayank Agarwal.

A couple off the last ball by Mohit Sharma helps Chennai reach 150 for seven. 

Delhi bowlers have done well to restrict Chennai. The onus is now on their batsmen. Yuvraj Singh did we mention? 

Chennai: 120-6 (17 overs)

Albie Morkel is back to bowl the 14th over, replacing Mishra (3-0-18-0). Dhoni smashes the fourth ball to the fence. 

Tahir replaces Duminy (2-0-15-1) in the attack in the 15th. Mishra returns to have Jadeja (17) stumped in his final over. Time for second strategic timeout. 

Dwayne Bravo is the new man in. He doesn't survive for long, Joseph having him out leg before. 

R Ashwin is the new man in. 

Chennai: 105-4 (13 overs)

Ravindra Jadeja is the new man in. And JP Duminy gives himself the ball, replacing Tahir (2-0-13-1) in the 11th over. He gives away six. 

Jadeja eases the pressure with a huge six off Mishra. A boundary over extra cover by Du Plessis, off Duminy, helps Chennai reach the 100-run mark in the 13th over. 

However, Duminy has the last laugh, having Du Plessis (32) caught by Shreyas Iyer. 

MS Dhoni, the captain, walks out to bat.

Chennai: 71-3 (8.1 overs)

Faf du Plessis is the new man in. He starts off with a couple of boundaries.

Spin is introduced in the seventh over, Imran Tahir replacing Joseph (2-0-17-0). He gives away six runs. 

It's twin spin with Amit Mishra replacing Morkel (2-0-22-0) in the next over. He gives away six as well.

Tahir strikes in his second over, having Smith (34) caught by Coulter-Nile. Time for the first strategic time out. 

Chennai: 38-2 (4 overs)

Dominic Joseph to bowl the third over. Smith dispatches the first ball, down the leg side, to the fence. It is given as leg byes.

However, three balls later Smith helps himself to successive boundaries.

Coulter-Nile strikes for a second time, cleaning up Raina (4) in his second over). 

Chennai: 26-1 (2 overs)

Nathan Coulter-Nile to bowl the second over. Brendon McCullum is fortunate as his edge flies past first slip (Yuvraj) and to the fence.

However, the New Zealand captain fails to build on his advantage skying the next one, Yuvraj Singh completing a simple catch.

Suresh Raina is the new man in. 

Chennai: 16-0 (1 over)

Brendon McCullum and Dwayne Smith to open the batting for Chennai and it will be Albie Morkel first up for Delhi. 

Smith hits the second ball past cover for the first boundary. Three balls later he finds the fence again.

Good evening and welcome to the live coverage of the Indian Premier League match between Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Daredevils. 

The news is Delhi captain JP Duminy has got it right with the coin and invited Chennai to bat first.