Ishant comes into India XI
November 14, 2019  09:12

Bangladesh captain Mominul Haque has won the toss and elected to bat against India at the Holkar Stadium in Indore on Thurday.

There is a bit of grass on the pitch that is likely to assist the Indian bowlers on the morning of Day 1.

On paper, it is difficult to imagine how Bangladesh, without Tamim Iqbal and the suspended Shakib Al Hasan, will even be able to compete in a format which has been their weakest till date.

Having crushed South Africa in their last series, this Indian team, with arguably their greatest-ever pace unit till date, will definitely be too hot to handle for a side whose best batsman -- skipper Mominul Haque -- has less than 10 Test hundreds (8).

Although Mushfiqur Rahim and Mahmudullah Riyad are committed cricketers, in the longest format they aren't exactly formidable names

Compare that to India's premier willow wielders -- Kohli (26 hundreds), Ajinkya Rahane (11), Cheteshwar Pujara (18). They have 50-plus ton collectively and it will be one hell of a task for the Mustafizur Rahamans, Taijul Islams and Mehidy Hasan Mirazjs to stop this line-up.

And before these three even come into play, Bangladesh will have to deal with openers Mayank Agarwal and the indomitable Rohit Sharma, who can make mincemeat of their bowling attack.

Not to forget that Bangladesh, in their last Test match under the mercurial Shakib's leadership, lost to Afghanistan in a one-off game.

Playing XI: 

India: Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Ravindra Jadeja, Wriddhiman Saha(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ishant Sharma

Bangladesh: Imrul Kayes, Shadman Islam, Mohammad Mithun, Mominul Haque(c), Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Liton Das(w), Mehedy Hasan, Taijul Islam, Abu Jayed, Ebadat Hossain
« Back to LIVE