» Sports » Stats: Australia vs New Zealand

Stats: Australia vs New Zealand

Source: PTI
October 06, 2009 14:05 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Following are the statistical highlights of the Champions Trophy final match between Australia and New Zealand at Centurion.

# Australia, after losing to West Indies by 10 runs at Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai on October 18, 2006, have remained unbeaten in their last nine games (including a no-result tie against India) in the ICC Champions Trophy.

# Australia's win by six wickets against New Zealand is their 12th in the ICC Champions Trophy, emulating West Indies' tally.

# Australia's tally of 12 wins in the ICC Champions Trophy includes all four victories against New Zealand. 

# Australia became the first team to post wins in two consecutive ICC Champions Trophies in 2006-07 & 2009-10.

# Australia have won five fifty-over Grand finals (three World Cups and two Champions Trophies) in a row, organised by the ICC.

# Cameron White has recorded his second fifty in ODIs His innings of 62 is his second best, next only to the 105 against England at Southampton on September 9,2009. 

# Kyle Mills (3/27) took 22 wickets (ave.19.09) in 12 matches with an economy rate of 4.37 and strike rate of 26.1. He is the top wicket-taker for New Zealand in the Champions Trophy.

# Shane Watson has achieved a unique feat of being adjudged Man of the Match in the last three ICC Champions Trophy knock-out matches - 2006-07 Final, followed by 2009-10 Semi-Final and the Grand Final.

# Watson has received seven Man of the Match awards - his first ever against New Zealand.

# Only two players have received two Man of the Match awards - Shane Watson and Daniel Vettori - in the just concluded competition. 

# In the course of his innings, his first hundred against New Zealand and the fourth in ODIs), Watson completed his 2,000 runs, aggregating 2020 (ave.40.40) in 90 ODIs. 

# Watson and Cameron White have been associated in a 128-run stand for the third wicket, which is Australia's highest in the ICC Champions Trophy.

# Martin Guptill (40) is the top run-getter for New Zealand in the Champions Trophy 2009-10 -- scoring 191 at an average of 38.20.

# Brett Lee (2/45) has taken his wickets' tally to 51 at an average of 20.82 in 27 ODIs against New Zealand. He became the second Australian bowler to capture 50 wickets or more in ODIs against New Zealand. Glenn McGrath is the leading bowler in Australia-New Zealand ODIs, having claimed 59 wickets at 19.83 runs apiece in 32 games. 

# Lee, with two wickets in the final against New Zealand, became the leading Australian bowler in the ICC Champions Trophy - 22 at an average of 26.86 in 16 matches, bettering McGrath's tally of 21 (ave.19.61) in 12 matches.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

IPL 2020

IPL 2020