NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » India's World T20 squad selection on March 26

India's World T20 squad selection on March 26

March 17, 2010 19:06 IST

In the midst of the Indian Premier League (IPL), the national selectors will meet in Mumbai on March 26 to pick the 15-member Indian squad for the ICC World Twenty20 championship to be held next month in the West Indies.

"The meeting of the selection committee to pick the team for the World T20 event is scheduled in Mumbai on March 26," BCCI sources said on Wednesday.

The five-man selection panel headed by Krishnamachari Srikkanth would prune the 30-strong preliminary list already chose while finalising the list of players who would depart for the West Indies after the conclusion of the IPL on April 25.

The World T20 is scheduled to be played in the Caribbean from April 30-May 16.

India are in Group C with South Africa and qualifiers Afghanistan in the preliminary league phase of the 12-team event and their first match is against the Afghans on May 1.

Probables: Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Dinesh Karthik, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar, S Sreesanth, Sudeep Tyagi, Rohit Sharma, Ashish Nehra, Ishant Sharma, Abhishek Nayar, Wriddhiman Saha, Naman Ojha, Piyush Chawla, Abhimanyu Mithun, Manish Pandey, R P Singh, Munaf Patel, M Vijay, Vinay Kumar, Amit Mishra, Pragyan Ojha, Virat Kohli and R Ashwin.