NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Akmal is top wicketkeeper in T20s

Akmal is top wicketkeeper in T20s

May 02, 2010 17:52 IST

Statistical highlights from the fourth match of the ICC World Twenty20 between Pakistan and Bangladesh, on Saturday:

- The first wicket partnership of 142 runs between Kamran Akmal and Salman Butt is Pakistan's best for any wicket in Twenty20 internationals. The pair obliterated the previous record stand of 119 (unbroken) for the fifth wicket between Shoaib Malik and Misbah-ul-Haq against Australia at Johannesburg on 18-09-2007.

- Incidentally, Pakistan's previous best first wicket partnership was 76 between Salman Butt and Imran Nazir, also against Bangladesh at Nairobi Gym on 02-09-2007.

- The above partnership was the second highest for the first wicket in Twenty20 World Cup. Chris Gayle and Devon Smith had added 145 runs for the first wicket against South Africa at Johannesburg on 11-09-2007.

- Kamran and Salman provided the tenth instance of both openers scoring a fifty each in the same innings. This was the fourth such instance in Twenty20 World Cup. 

- Both Kamran and Salman made 73 runs each, thus providing the 12th instance of two openers making identical scores in an innings. This was the fifth such instance in Twenty20 World Cup as listed below:






MA Ouma & DO Obuya


Ken v NZ



AC Gilchrist & ML Hayden


Aus v Zim

Cape Town


RR Watson & NS Poonia


Sco v NZ

The Oval


WTS Porterfield & NJ O'Brien


Ire v SL



Kamran Akmal & Salman Butt


Pak v Ban

Gros Islet


- Kamran Akmal's 73 is the highest score by a wicketkeeper in all Twenty20 World Cup matches, bettering Kumar Sangakkara's 64 not out against Pakistan at Lord's on 21-06-2009.

- Kamran Akmal's innings is in fact the second highest by a wicketkeeper in all Twenty20 internationals, after Kumar Sangakkara's 78 against India at Nagpur on 09-12-2009.

- Kamran and Salman now share the record of highest individual score by a Pakistan batsman in Twenty20 World Cup. The previous best was Misbah-ul-Haq's 66 not out against Australia at Johannesburg on 18-09-2007.

- Kamran now holds the record of highest run-scoring wicketkeeper in T20 World Cup. At the end of this match, Kamran's run-aggregate stands at 305 (from 13 innings), which takes him ahead of Kumar Sangakkara (285) and Mahendra Singh Dhoni (255).

- Kamran also became the third wicketkeeper to aggregate 500 runs in Twenty20 Internationals after Brendon McCullum (620) and Kumar Sangakkara (576).

- The third wicket partnership of 91 runs between Mohammad Ashraful and Shakib Al Hasan is Bangladesh's best for any wicket against Pakistan. The pair expunged the previous record stand of 63 (for the second wicket) between Junaid Siqddique and Aftab Ahmed at Cape Town on 20-09-2007.

- Mohammad Sami (3-23) became the fourth Pakistan bowler to claim three wickets on Twenty20 international debut after Abdul Razzaq (3-30 v England at Bristol on 28-08-2006), Younis Khan (3-18 v Kenya at Nairobi Gym on 04-09-2007) and Mansoor Amjad (3-3 v Bangladesh at Karachi on 20-04-2008).

- Shahid Afridi has now won all the four T20I games he has led Pakistan in.

- Salman Butt won his second Man of the Match award in T20Is.