NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Stats Highlights, England vs South Africa, Super Eights, World Twenty20

Stats Highlights, England vs South Africa, Super Eights, World Twenty20

May 09, 2010 13:19 IST


Statistical Highlights from the eighteenth match of the ICC World Twenty20 between England and South Africa in Bridgetown, Barbados, on Saturday.

# The second wicket partnership of 94 runs between Craig Kieswetter and Kevin Pietersen is Engalnd's best for any wicket against South Africa in the World Cup, obliterating the 55-run partnership between Matt Prior and Owais Shah for the fourth wicket at Cape Town on September 16, 2007.

# Kevin Pietersen (53) scored his second consecutive fifty. He had made an unbeaten 73 against Pakistan at this same venue (Bridgetown) on May 6, 2010.

# Pietersen is the first England batsman to score two consecutive fifties in the World Cup. Sri Lanka's Mahela Jayawardene holds the current World Cup record with 3 consecutive fifties.

# Pietersen is also only the second England batsman to score back to back fifties in T20s after Marcus Trecothick who made 72 and 53 in two consecutive games against Sri Lanka and Pakistan respectively in 2006.

# Pietersen - during the course of his innings - completed his 800 runs in the T20Is. He became the second batsman to do this after Brendon McCullum (1048).

# Pietersen's innings is the highest for England against South Africa in the World Cup.

# Dale Steyn by conceding 50 runs in the match achieved the dubious distinction of conceding most runs in a match for South Africa against England.

# Steyn also became only the second South African bowler to concede 50 runs in a World Cup match after Shaun Pollock who had conceded 52 runs against West Indies at Johannesburg on September 11, 2007.

# South Africa (129) were dismissed for the first time in the World Cup. It was also the first instance of England dismissing the opposition in the World Cup.

# England registered their first win over South Africa in the World Cup in three attempts.

# Pieteresen won his fourth Man of the Match award. Now only Sanath Jayasuriya (6) and Shahid Afridi (6) have won more awards in T20s.

# The award was third for Pietersen in the World Cup, which makes him the player to win most awards in the tournament history, along with Sanath Jayasuriya, Shahid Afridi and Mahela Jayawardene.