Inexperience showed as India captain Suresh Raina forgot to tell on-field umpires about bowling Power Plays he intended to take against Sri Lanka in the tri-series match in Bulawayo on Sunday.
Raina won the toss and asked Sri Lanka to bat first. After the first 10 overs, the field setting indicated that the Indian side had taken Power Play, but there was no official communication from Raina to the umpires.
The confusion prolonged till the 15th over after which the fielders were pushed back in the deep, as is done after the Power Plays.
One more over went like this before Raina realised the gaffe and approached the on-field umpires, who told him that they had not been informed anything about Power Play.
The episode provided much amusement to Sri Lankan captain Tillakaratne Dilshan who was seen giggling.
Eventually, official Power Play was taken from 17th to 22nd overs and Raina conceded his mistake after the match.
"I forgot it. I thought I had told the umpire about the Powerplay, but he said I hadn't," an embarrassed Raina said.