» Sports » Statistical highlights: India vs Sri Lanka, Tri-series, final

Statistical highlights: India vs Sri Lanka, Tri-series, final

Source: PTI
Last updated on: January 14, 2010 10:05 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Statistical highlights of the tri-series final between India and Sri Lanka, at the Sher-e-Bangla National stadium in Mirpur, Bangladesh, on Wednesday.

# Virat Kohli aggregated 275 runs at an average of 91.66, including one hundred and two fifties, in five matches -- a tally second best for India in Bangladesh.

# Mohammad Azharuddin had scored 284 (avg 71.00) in five matches in the Silver Jubilee Independence Cup in 1997-98 in Bangladesh.

# Kohli's tally of 275 is the highest for India in the Tri-nation series 2009-10.

# Nuwan Kulasekara's brilliant bowling figures of 4 for 48 are his second best -- the best being 4 for 40 against India at Colombo RPS on August 29, 2008.

# Kulasekara was adjudged man-of-the-match for the second time in ODIs.  He first got the award against India at Colombo RPS on August 29, 2008, for claiming four wickets.

# Ravindra Jadeja and Suresh Raina added 106 for the sixth wicket, a partnership record for India against Sri Lanka, surpassing the 85 between Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Yusuf Pathan at Colombo RPS on February 3, 2009.

# Welegedara bagged eight wickets, at an average of 26.12 in four matches. His wicket tally is the highest by any bowler in the just-concluded Tri-series.

# Kumar Sangakkara became the third wicketkeeper in limited-overs internationals to effect 300 dismissals -- 301 (235 catches + 66 stumpings). He is only surpassed by Australia's Adam Gilchrist (472) and South Africa's Mark Boucher (414).

# Having already completed 7000 runs (7259), Sangakkara became the second wicketkeeper after Gilchrist (9410) to complete the double of 7,000 runs and 300 dismissals in limited-overs internationals.

# Sri Lanka's four-wicket triumph is their seventh in a grand final against India, losing six, while the ICC Champions Trophy in 2002 was shared, as it was a rain-affected game.

# Upul Tharanga, for the first time, posted two ducks in succession in ODIs.

# Tharanga recorded four ducks in nine innings in Bangladesh, aggregating 207 at an average of 25.87.

# Tharanga registered three ducks against India and nine overall. He has eight ducks away from home and only one in Sri Lanka.

# India and Sri Lanka established a record by playing 121 ODIs, bettering the 120 played between Australia and West Indies.

# India won 64 (58.18%) and Sri Lanka 46 (41.81) and the remaining 11 failed to produce results.

# Virender Sehwag batted in the competition at a strike rate of 154.54 (102 runs in three innings) -- the best in the Tri-nation series.

# Harbhajan, with six wickets at 24.00 runs apiece in three matches, is the top wicket-taker for India in the tournament.

# Sehwag is the sixth Indian to complete 7,000 runs in ODIs, amassing 7036 at an average of 34.32, including 12 hundreds and 35 fifties. His feat of scoring 7000 runs in 213 innings is the fourth quickest by an Indian; the three quickest are Sourav Ganguly (174), Sachin Tendulkar (189) Rahul Dravid (204).

# Kumar Sangakkara, for the first time, won five tosses in a row in ODIs.

# Sangakkara's 55 off 51 balls is his 55th fifty overall -- his 12th against India.

# Sangakkara got his fourth Player of the series award. The said award is his first in four years.

# Sangakkara (274) had his best series performance as captain.

# Mahela Jayawardene posted a match-winning half-century (71 not out off 81 balls).  His 14th fifty against India is his 52nd in ODIs.

# Suresh Raina registered his third century in ODIs. In the Asia Cup in 2008, he had made a hundred each against Bangladesh and Hong Kong, both at the National stadium, Karachi.

# Raina, with a hundred for a losing cause, became the fourth Indian to register a hundred while batting at the No 6 position, joining Kapil Dev, Ajay Jadeja and Mohammad Azharuddin.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

IPL 2020

IPL 2020