» Sports » Stats: India vs Bangladesh, Mirpur Test (Day I)

Stats: India vs Bangladesh, Mirpur Test (Day I)

Source: PTI
January 24, 2010 20:44 IST
Get Rediff News in your Inbox:

Following are the statistical highlights of the opening day of the second Test between India and Bangladesh in Mirpur.

# Mahmudullah has become the first batsman to post an innings of nervous ninety for Bangladesh against India and the first to be stranded in the 90s in a completed innings total Bangladesh.

# Imrul Kayes has posted his first duck in Tests. 

# Tamim Iqbal has recorded his third duck overall - his first against India.

# Both the openers from Bangladesh have failed to open their account for the first time in the same innings. The said feat has happened for the fifth time against India - three times by West Indies and once each by Bangladesh and Zimbabwe. 

# Mahmudullah's brilliant innings of 96 not out is his career-best - his second fifty in Tests taking his run-aggregate in the series to 185 at an average of 92.50 - the highest for Bangladesh so far in the 2009-10 rubber.

# Mahmudullah's aforesaid innings is the highest by number eight batsman for Bangladesh against India and the second highest overall, next only to the 103 not out by Khaled Mashud against West Indies at Gros Islet six years ago. 

# Mahendra Singh Dhoni (3 catches + 2 stumpings) is the first wicketkeeper to effect five dismissals in a Test innings three times for India.

# Dhoni has effected five dismissals or more in an innings twice as captain, emulating England's Alec Stewart and Australia's Adam Gilchrist.

# Playing in his third Test against Bangladesh, Dhoni took his tally of dismissals to 12, equalling Dinesh Karthik's tally of 12 in five Tests.

# Dhoni's dismissal tally is now exactly 125 - 105 catches + 20 stumpings. His overseas record is better as a wicketkeeper - 54 in 20 Tests in India and 71 in 21 Tests on foreign soil. 

# Dhoni's performance as a captain-cum-wicketkeeper is far better - 42 dismissals (36 catches + 6 stumpings) in eleven Tests. 

# With their unbroken 69-run unfinished stand for the first wicket, Virender Sehwag and Gautam Gambhir, have recorded their 22nd stand of fifty-plus in Tests, extending their Indian record.

# Sehwag-Gambhir pair has aggregated 2742 (ave 62.31) in 46 innings - amongst the Indian opening pairs with 2,000 runs or more, their average is the best.

# Mahmudullah and Shafiul Islam were associated in a ninth wicket stand of 58, which is the highest ever partnership at Shere Bangla National Stadium.

# With two catches today, Dravid has taken his catches' tally to 101 away from home. He is the first fielder to register 100 catches or more away from home. 

# Virender Sehwag's strike rate in Tests is 80.67 but under Dhoni's captaincy, his strike rate is 100.09.

# During the course of his unbeaten 41, Sehwag has completed 1,000 runs under Dhoni's captaincy - 1038 (ave 61.05) in 11 Tests, including two hundreds and five fifties. 

# Gambhir is averaging 57.82 in Tests while aggregating 2718, including nine hundreds and ten fifties, in 29 Tests - his average is the highest for India in Test Cricket. 

# Gambhir's average of 72.82 away from home is outstanding, amassing 1238 in 12 Tests (20 innings), including four hundreds and five fifties. 

# Ishant Sharma (4/66) has bowled quite well to register his best performance away from home. The said performance is his second best - the best being the 5 for 118 against Pakistan at Bangalore in December 2007.

# Mushfiqur, with his career-best series performance (175) has taken his series aggregate to 175 - the highest by a Bangladesh wicketkeeper in a Test series.

# Shakib Al Hasan (34) has registered his highest innings against India.

# Shakib and Mushfiqur were associated in a 55-run stand for the sixth wicket - Bangladesh's highest against India at this venue.

Get Rediff News in your Inbox:
Source: PTI© Copyright 2020 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.

IPL 2020

IPL 2020