NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » Nafees, Kayes take Bangladesh past NZ

Nafees, Kayes take Bangladesh past NZ

October 11, 2010 16:47 IST

Bangladesh's spinners tied New Zealand in knots to set up a crushing seven-wicket victory for the hosts in the third one-day international on Monday.

New Zealand struggled to 173 all out and openers Shahriar Nafees and Imrul Kayes shared a century stand as Bangladesh cruised to their target with 10 overs to spare to take a 2-0 lead in the five-match series.

It was only Bangladesh's third victory over New Zealand in 19 one-day internationals and their second in a row.

Rain washed out the second match of the series.

Unheralded spinner Mohammad Suhrawadi completed figures of three for 14 to claim the man of the match award.

New Zealand slumped to 101 for seven before vice-captain Ross Taylor struck an unbeaten 62 off 72 balls to give their total some respectability.

Shahriar struck 13 boundaries in his 11th one-day fifty before falling to Nathan McCullum for a run-a-ball 73.

Imrul made 50 off 83 balls and Roqibul Hassan and Shakib al-Hasan steered their side to victory in front of a delighted 15,000 crowd.

The fourth match of the series will be held at the same venue on Thursday.


New Zealand:
B. McCullum c Rahim b Shafiul 0
J. Ryder c Imrul b Suhrawadi 33
B. Watling c Zunaed b Razzak 20
R. Taylor not out 62
G. Elliott b Shakib 2
D. Vettori c and b Suhrawadi 9
S. Stewart lbw b Suhrawadi 14
N. McCullum b Rubel 2
K. Mills c Rubel b Shakib 26
T. Southee lbw b Mahmudullah 0
A. McKay c Rahim b Mahmudullah 0.
Extras: (w-3, nb-2) 5
Total: (all out; 42.5 overs) 173

Fall of wickets: 1-0, 2-55, 3-56, 4-62, 5-79, 6-98, 7-101, 8-173, 9-173, 10-173.

Bowling: Shafiul 4-0-22-1, Rubel 8-0-39-1 (w-2), Razzak 10-0-47-1, Shakib 9-1-45-2 (nb-2), Suhrawadi 10-2-14-3, Mahmudullah 1.5-0-6-2 (w-1).

I. Kayes c Elliott b N. McCullum 50
S. Nafees c B. McCullum b N. McCullum 73
Z. Siddique c N. McCullum b McKay 14
R. Hassan not out 18
S. Hasan not out 13
Extras :(lb-1, w-5 nb-3) 9
Total: (three wickets; 40 overs) 177

Did not bat: M. Rahim, Mahmudullah, M. Sohrawordi, A Razzak, S. Islam, R. Hossain

Fall of wickets: 1-127, 2-134, 3-159.

Bowling: Mills 6-0-38-0 (nb-2), Southee 3-0-20-0 (nb-1), N. McCullum 10-0-31-2, McKay 6-0-28-1 (w-4), Vettori 10-0-36-0, Ryder 3-0-20-0, Taylor 2-0-3-0.

© Copyright 2013 Reuters Limited. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of Reuters content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent of Reuters. Reuters shall not be liable for any errors or delays in the content, or for any actions taken in reliance thereon.