NewsApp (Free)

Read news as it happens
Download NewsApp

Available on  

Rediff News  All News  » Sports » We have picked the best team: Srikkanth

We have picked the best team: Srikkanth

March 26, 2010 16:05 IST

Krishnamachari Srikkanth, the chairman of the Board of Control for Cricket in India's senior selection panel, declared that the "best team" has been picked for forthcoming Twenty20 World Cup and expressd hope that India will put up good performance in the April 30-May 16 mega-event in the West Indies.

"We have selected the best team for the Twenty20 World Cup. We are happy with the performance of every member of the team. They have shown consistency," Srikkanth said after the selection committee meeting inb Mumbai on Friday.

"The Twenty20 World Cup is still one month away and we hope that this team will do well in the event," he added.

The chief selector also said the team has a strong batting department.

"Batting of our team is very powerful and condition of the wickets in Caribbean is similar to the Indian condition. I think it will suit our batsmen and bowlers," he said.

Besides wicket-keeper captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the 15-member squad has four specialist batsmen in vice-captain Virender Sehwag, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh and Gautam Gambhir.

Srikkanth also said, as of now, there is no fitness worry.

"Everyone is hundred per cent fit and all the fitness certificates have been submitted to the Board. All the members are fit and fine."

Karnataka pacer Ranganath Vinay Kumar , who is displaying good form in the ongoing Indian Premier League, is the only new face in the squad.

Squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni (captain), Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Yusuf Pathan, Harbhajan Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Zaheer Khan, Praveen Kumar, Ashish Nehra, Vinay Kumar, Dinesh Karthik, Rohit Sharma, Piyush Chawla.

© Copyright 2013 PTI. All rights reserved. Republication or redistribution of PTI content, including by framing or similar means, is expressly prohibited without the prior written consent.